The state of Kerala has a 590km long coastline with 17 notified non major ports and one major port at Cochin. The non major ports in the state are under the administrative control of Government of Kerala. Government by the enactment of KMB Act 2017, has entrusted the administration and control of the non major ports with the Kerala maritime Board.

Harness unexplored potential of Kerala’s coastline for sustainable growth of maritime trade and the shipping industry. In association with our community and stake-holders, evolve a policy frame-work that enables sustainable and integrated development of Kerala’s coastal belt. Attract entrepreneurial participation for industrial and social development of Kerala in an equitable, responsible and environment friendly manner. Make Kerala the most preferred destination for maritime trade.

Vision & Mission


To develop Kerala into a smart, sustainable and prosperous blue economy

  • To facilitate and regulate the maritime activities in the state by formulation and implementation of progressive policies.
  • To ensure environmentally sustainable development of the state’s maritime sector and the coastal areas and promote implementation of low carbon technologies in port operations.
  • To maximize coastal benefits and strategic advantages of Kerala and transform the non major Ports in to drivers of regional growth.
  • To increase the share of Kerala in the maritime trade of India by increasing the cargo throughput of non major ports.

Our History

The Port Department under the Government of Kerala administers the non major ports in the maritime state of Kerala before Kerala Maritime Board Act, 2017 passed by the Kerala Legislative Assembly. These Ports were administered directly by the Director of Ports. There are 17 notified non major ports in Kerala under the Port Department. Two Ports at Kovilthottam and Manakkodam got denotified.

The Department formerly Port Fund (Marine Department) under the Public Works Department administered the minor ports in the Travancore - Cochin State. With the re-organisation of the states from 1st November 1956, the minor port of Colachel of the former Travancore Cochin State was transferred to the Madras State. The minor ports in Malabar & Kasargode were transferred from Madras State to unified Kerala and were grouped together as a separate administration unit under the Additional Principal Port Officer, Kozhikode.